Awards 2011

Chapter President, Sheri Armstrong presenting the R.G.


Mr. John Winship, Gentex Corporation (left) receiving his Presidents Award from Mr. Jason Leggatt, Mustang Survival- Past President Canadian Chapter.

2010/2011 R.G. “Bob” Sutherland Lifetime Achievement Award

The Canadian Chapter of SAFE is pleased to announce that Mr Bill Martell has won the R.G. “Bob” Sutherland Lifetime Achievement Award by the SAFE Canada Chapter.

The award was presented during the 2nd Canada-East Coast Joint Symposium being held APRIL 26-27, 2010, in Ottawa.

As of June 2010, Mr. Bill Martell will have been intimately involved in Canadian Forces Aviation Life Support Equipment (ALSE) training, evaluation and modification for 50 years. He first served as a Safety Systems Technician in the Canadian Forces (CF) from 1960 to 1991. When he retired he was one of the most experienced ALSE Technicians in the CF, having completed over 40 ALSE specialty courses and having provided invaluable support to CF aircrew. After his retirement from the CF, Defence Research and Development Canada (DRDC) in Toronto was fortunate to retain him as a consultant from 1992 to 2000. After making the transition to civil service in 2000, Bill continued to serve the CF as the Technical Advisor to the Life Support Engineering section in DRDC Toronto. Over his long career in Life Support, he has provided dedication, considerable knowledge and experience which have enhanced the protection of DND aircrew and passengers alike. For his invaluable contribution and dedication to the ALSE community in Canada, Bill Martell is awarded the R.G. “Bob” Sutherland Lifetime Achievement Award by the SAFE Canada Chapter.


Bill Martel (r) receives the 2010/2011 Chapter President's Award from 2010 Chapter President Jason Leggatt.

Awards 2008 / 2009

2008/2009 co-recipients of the R.G. "Bob" Sutherland Lifetime Achievement Award, brothers, Mr. Frank Sova (r) & Mr. Fred Sova (l).

Costa Alexiou (l) receives the 2008/2009 Chapter President's Award from 2007 Chapter President Pierre Poulin.

Awards 2007 / 2008

The First SAFE Canadian Chapter Lifetime Achievement Award was won by Bob Sutherland (now known as "Stormy" Sutherland due to his ability to call down the storm gods whenever a luncheon is called). Stormy is seen above with members of SAFE Canada who braved the winter weather to honour him.


Rick Auger (l) receives the Chapter President's Award from 2007 Chapter President Pierre Poulin.

Bill Martel (c) receives the SAFE Career Achievement Award at the SAFE Symposium 2007.

Awards 2006 / 2007

Denis Rioux (c) (pictured here with General (Ret'd) Spruance (left)) receives the General Spruance Award for outstanding contribution to safety through education.

Debra McPherson (l) receives the first Chapter President's Award from 2006 Chapter President John Winship.